Month: May 2010

  • “Have a nice Day”

    “Have a nice day” is a phrase that is usually associated with a large smiley face. I think the phrase got popular around the 60′s when Forest Gump gave that T-shirt guy an idea.

    I don’t know how the phrase originated, but I do find myself using it a lot to wish someone well. I remember pastor Tim was talking about the phrase “Have a nice day.” sounding more like a command instead of wishing someone well. “So if I say okay and I don’t have a nice day have I lied to you? And if I don’t have a nice day am I disobeying you?” That’s a funny thought and it got me thinking… What is a nice day?

    What is a nice day? Is it a day with sunshine, smiles and pretty rainbows? Is it a day where everything goes our way? Is it a day you might fix everything and save a frog? Perhaps I’m looking at this all wrong…

    Maybe have a nice day implies that we have a choice. Maybe can choose to have a nice day, or we can choose to have a bad day depending on how you look at your day. If you simply look at the big picture of your day… maybe every day could be a nice day.

    So how do we do that? Remember that you have survived the day enough to think about it. Remember that tomorrow is a new day with new possibilities. Remember that you are loved by a God that cares about you. Everything else fades into a sea of grace and peace.

    I like the idea of being able to choose a nice day everyday. Knowing that whatever day I face with good things and bad things will always result in a nice day.

    ~Oneazn2nv